Want to contact an MP about climate change issues?

Government Ministers & other leaders on climate change

The following Ministers and MPs have the power to make change happen – write a letter or flick them an email to let them know you expect them to pass a Zero Carbon Act

If you happen to live in their electorate – it might be useful to approach them as your local MP rather than a Government Minister. Your local MPs are in Parliament to represent YOU – they should listen and, at the very least, pass on your concerns to the relevant Minister. The good news is: Politicians do pay attention to people who live in their electoral district. It is relatively easy to set up a face-to-face meeting – just contact your local MPs electorate office and schedule an appointment at their next constituency ‘clinic’. You can then share your concern about climate change and ask them to #BackThePlan.

Use the following links to find out more about your
Electorate: http://www.elections.org.nz/voters/find-my-electorate
Local MPs: https://www.parliament.nz/en/mps-and-electorates/members-of-parliament/

Government Ministers

  • Rt Hon Bill English  (Prime Minister)
  • Hon Paula Bennett  (Minister for Climate Change Issues)
  • Hon Dr Nick Smith  (Minister for the Environment)
  • Hon Simon Bridges  (Minister of Transport and Economic Development)
  • Hon Nathan Guy  (Minister for Primary Industries)
  • Hon Gerry Brownlee  (Minister for Foreign Affairs)

Party leaders

  • Jacinda Ardern  (Leader of the Labour Party)
  • James Shaw    (Co-Leader of the Green Party)
  • Rt Hon Winston Peters  (Leader of NZ First)
  • Hon Te Ururoa Flavell  (Co-Leader of the Māori Party)
  • Hon Peter Dunne  (Leader of United Future)
  • David Seymour  (Leader of ACT)
  • Gareth Morgan  (Leader of TOP)

MPs with a focus on climate change

  • Scott Simpson  (National)
  • Stuart Smith   (National)
  • Dr Megan Woods  (Labour) 
  • Hon David Parker  (Labour)
  • Dr Kennedy Graham  (Green)
  • Tracey Martin   (NZ First)
  • Denis O’Rourke (NZ First)
  • Marama Fox   (Māori)

Contact details

Government Ministers

Rt Hon Bill English, Prime Minister

Hon Paula Bennett, Deputy Prime Minister & Minister for Climate Change Issues

Secondary targets:

Other leaders:

Jacinda Ardern, Leader of the Labour Party

James Shaw, Co-Leader of the Green Party and Spokesperson for Climate Change

Rt Hon Winston Peters, Leader of NZ First

Hon Te Ururoa Flavell, Co-Leader of the Māori Party

Hon Peter Dunne, Leader of United Future

David Seymour, Leader of ACT

Gareth Morgan, Leader of TOP

MPs with an interest in climate change

Hon Scott Simpson (National)

Hon Stuart Smith (National)

Dr Megan Woods (Labour)

Hon David Parker (Labour)

Dr Kennedy Graham (Green)

Tracey Martin (NZ First)

Denis O’Rourke (NZ First)

Marama Fox (Māori)

Email addresses for all MPs can be found here.